Savoury Oatmeal!

One week into the year of 2017, I wonder how many of you want some incentive to keep going. So, I am back at my breakfast recipe give away.

Obviously, my recipes are BuzzFeed, Tastemade or Pinterest inspired but if you ask me why breakfast makes up my favorite meal, it’s because they appeal to the lethargic side of me. The best part about these is that you can even prepare them the previous night so you don’t have to wake up extra early. Heck, they are even your breakfast to-go options when you don’t want to run late on an empty stomach.

This one today was an epiphany to me! I mean I never realized there are other ways of preparing your oatmeal. I thought of taking the road less trodden by making my oatmeal savory and not sweet! Initially, I was very skeptical about this but obviously, it intrigued me so much that I just had to try it out myself.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup quick-cooking rolled oats
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper
  • 4-5 of Mushrooms cleaned and cut in half (you can use sausages or any other meat option too)
  • 3 Cherry tomatoes
  • A handful of Walnuts
  • 1 large egg

Directions

In a small saucepan, bring 1 cup water to a boil. Add oats and pinch of salt; stir, reduce heat, and simmer until tender, about 5 minutes.

Meanwhile, heat a small nonstick pan over medium. Coat lightly with cooking spray. Cook the mushrooms with a little butter along with the walnuts to add to the flavor. Once the mushrooms are cooked and the nuts roasted, set them aside. Add egg and cook until white is set and yolk is still runny, about 3 minutes. Season egg to taste with salt and pepper.

Serve oatmeal in a bowl, layer the sunny side up egg on top along with the mushrooms and the walnuts.

You can always go ahead for your favorite sides instead of mushrooms and walnuts.

img_6871

Leave a Reply

